Grassroots Football Awards launch Feb 2024

Grassroots Awards winners for 2024!

THE winners of the Grassroots Football Awards 2024 in Suffolk have been announced.

THE winners of the Grassroots Football Awards 2024 in Suffolk have been announced.

The Judging Panel read through a record-breaking 116 entries this year, easily surpassing the previous high of 87 submitted in 2020.

The Bobby Moore award for the volunteer that represents the best of grassroots football in Suffolk, was won by Bob Morrison.

Bob belies his 76 years to mark out seven pitches of varying sizes from mini soccer to 11-a-side at Capel Plough FC.

He also ensures that the three adult teams have a clean kit and training wear on a weekly basis as well as cleaning the changing rooms, social, communal and bar areas weekly along with maintaining the goals and pitches when required.

Mags Fortune, owner of the Wot’s Up Day Care Centre, was the winner of the Keeping Football Positive Award for the volunteer, club league or project that’s used the power of football to improve others’ lives and made a difference to their community.

Lakenheath Youth FC, who won the Club of the Year category, received multiple nominations and were described as ‘an amazing club’ with excellent facilities providing a player pathway to adult football.

Sharon Wilson pipped husband Alex, who was also runner-up last year, to the Disability Coach of the Year award. They both run the Lavenham All Stars pan disability team.

The Judging Panel was led by Suffolk FA Football Development Manager Matt Stebbings and included the following:


Matt Stebbings, Suffolk FA Football Development Manager

Paul Miller, McDonald’s

James Payne, Active Suffolk

Niki Clemo, Suffolk FA Board Member

David Porter, Suffolk FA Council Member

Casey Arowosafe, last year’s winner of the Positive Football Environment Award


Matt Stebbings said: “It has been another great year for Suffolk Football and its volunteers.

“A huge thank you to all those who took the time to nominate individuals, teams and leagues as we received a record-breaking number of entries to this year’s competition.

“A big congratulations to all those that were nominated and even bigger congratulations to those who pick up the winners and highly commended awards. It was a very difficult but enjoyable day judging the nominations.

“The final thank you goes to the judging panel who gave up their time to judge.

“Watch this space for a new volunteer recruitment programme and also a new way to recognise Suffolk volunteers in this new strategy period.”


Grassroots Football Awards 2024 Roll of Honour


Bobby Moore Award

Winner - Bob Morrison (Capel Plough FC)

Highly Commended - John Beer (Kirton Kestrels FC)


Club of the Year

Winner - Lakenheath Youth FC

Highly Commended: Chantry Grasshoppers FC


Coach of the Year Disability

Winner - Sharon Wilson (Lavenham All Stars Pan Disability)

Highly Commended - Alex Wilson (Lavenham All Stars Pan Disability)


Coach of the Year Female

Winner - David Sutton (Kirkley & Pakefield FC)

Highly Commended - Si Stewart (Woodbridge Town Youth FC)


Coach of the Year Male

Winner - Lewis Arlow (Corton Cobras FC)

Highly Commended - Bruno Dos Reis Cabral (Ipswich Athletic FC) & Karl Orton (Honington Foxes Youth FC)


Keeping Football Positive Award

Winner - Mags Fortune (Wot’s Up Disability League)

Highly Commended - Stuart Buckle & Mark Burgess (both Debenham Hornets FC)


League of the Year

Winner - Suffolk FA Wot’s Up Disability League


Match Official of the Year

Winner - Stephen Gray

Highly Commended - Reg Barker


New Volunteer of the Year

Winner - Liz Baalham (Brantham Athletic FC)

Highly Commended - Harrison Mayhew-Kemp (ITFC Foundation)


Young Volunteer of the Year

Winner - Edward Rolls (Coplestonians FC)

Related News

View All