Awards Ceremony Oct 2022 1

Ceremony honours Grassroots winners

GRASSROOTS individuals, clubs and leagues in Suffolk were honoured at a special ceremony.

GRASSROOTS individuals, clubs and leagues in Suffolk were honoured at a special ceremony.

More than 50 guests attended the Suffolk FA Awards Ceremony 2022 sponsored by Jacobsen Ltd and McDonald’s.

The event was held in Beattie’s at Portman Road on Friday afternoon and featured presentations to the winners of this year’s England Football and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards.


The annual Groundsman of the Year Awards and Referee Long Service Awards were also presented to recipients.

The awards were made by Jacobsen Ltd directors Christian Clifford and Jason King, assisted by Suffolk FA Chair Phil Lawler, and McDonald’s franchisee Carol Rogerson.

Guests then moved downstairs to the Sir Bobby Robson Suite where they enjoyed a two-course meal and pre-match hospitality before watching Ipswich Town’s 1-0 victory over Derby County.

Suffolk FA Marketing & Communications Office Nick Garnham, who organised the event, said: “The event was a great success, topped off by an excellent meal and an Ipswich win in front of the Sky TV cameras!”


Suffolk FA 2022 winners


Suffolk FA Groundsman of the Year

1st – Bryan Symonds (Bacton Utd 89 FC)

2nd – Tony Adams (Claydon FC)

3rd – Chris Brown & Shaun Soloman (Beccles Town FC)

Awards Ceremony Oct 2022 4

Bacton Utd 89 FC groundsman Bryan Symonds (second right) receives his award from (left to right) Suffolk FA Chair Phil Lawler and Jacobsen Ltd Directors Christian Clifford and Jason King. Photographs: Neil Dady

Referee Long Service Awards

25 Years – Derren Haynes & Daniel Keeble plus Darren Stobbart who was not able to attend.


England Football and McDonald's Grassroots Football Awards

Grassroots Coach of the Year Adults

Winner – Lee Smith (Wot’s Up Warriors FC)

Awards Ceremony Oct 2022 3

Shania Heskett, winner of the Grassroots Coach of the Year Youth category, pictured with Lee Smith, winner of the Grassroots Coach of the Year Adult category

Grassroots Coach of the Year Youth

Winner – Shania Heskett (Ipswich Valley Rangers FC)

Highly Commended – Karl Olley (Beccles Town FC) & Liam Fernard (Haverhill Rovers FC)


Grassroots Grounds Team of the Year

Winner – Bryan Symonds (Bacton United 89)


Grassroots Club of the Year

Winner – Lavenham Youth FC

Highly Commended – Beccles Town FC

Awards Ceremony Oct 2022 2

Helen Clutterham (left) and Vicki Harries (centre) of Lavenham Youth FC, winners of the Grassroots Club of the Year category, pictured with McDonald's Franchisee Carol Rogerson

Grassroots League of the Year

Winner – Norfolk & Suffolk Youth League


Grassroots Volunteer of the Year

Winner – Chris Bond (Lowestoft Town FC)

Highly Commended – Mark Dye (Stowupland Falcons FC)


Rising Star of the Year

Winner – Rhys Mower (Lakenheath Youth FC)


Grassroots Project of the Year

Winner – Suffolk Frame Football (Coplestonians FC)


Grassroots Match Official of the Year

Winner – Jessica Marriott


Spirit of Grassroots Football Award

Winner – Steve Carter (Bramford Road Old Boys FC)


Related News

View All