GOTY 2020 Chris Brown Beccles Town 2

Three clubs contest Groundsman award

THREE clubs will contest the coveted title of Suffolk FA Groundsman of the Year.

THREE clubs will contest the title of Suffolk FA Groundsman of the Year sponsored by Jacobsen Ltd.

Beccles Town, Bacton United 89 and Claydon, who are all former winners of the competition, will go head-to-head on Friday.

The competition, which saw Beccles Town retain the title they won in 2019 when it last took place the following year, is open to clubs who play at Step 7 and below.

The winning groundsman will receive £200 to be spent on groundscare equipment, with the runner-up £100 and the third-placed groundsman £50.

The judges will visit each of the three grounds on Friday. The Judging Panel will be as follows:

Ben Connell - Head Groundsman at Ipswich Town FC

Matt Stebbings - Football Development Manager at Suffolk FA

Adam Underwood - International Marketing Manager Jacobsen Ltd

Tim Parker - Consultant with Parkers Pitches

Beccles Town joint groundsman Chris Brown (third from left) is pictured above talking to the judges when they visited in 2020.


Related News

View All