Womens Cup draw Aug 2020

Five new teams enter the cup draw

THE draw has been made for the first round of the 2020-21 Suffolk Women’s Cup.

NEWCOMERS Kesgrave Kestrels have been handed a tough tie in the first round of this season's HomeStore Self Storage Suffolk Women’s Cup.

The Suffolk Girls’ & Women’s League side have been drawn at home to Ipswich Town.

Kesgrave Kestrels are one of five new teams taking part in this season’s competition, bringing the total number of entrants to 24.

AFC Sudbury Reserves and Stowupland Falcons will travel to Needham Market Reserves and Mildenhall Town respectively.

The other two new teams, East Bergholt United Reserves and Halesworth Town, have both received first-round byes.

The competition is being sponsored for the sixth successive season by HomeStore Self Storage, who have branches in Bury St Edmunds and Ipswich.

Martin Tuck, Managing Director of HomeStore Self Storage, said: “HomeStore Self Storage are extremely pleased to continue our sponsorship of Suffolk FA’s Women’s Cup.

It allows our business the opportunity to put something back into the local community of Suffolk that we serve directly with our Self Storage centres at Ipswich and Bury St Edmunds.

Also, the growth of female football in the U.K. has been phenomenal, with its popularity ever-increasing and so it also offers an ideal avenue for the promotion of our company.”

Aimee Harrison is pictured above receiving her medal from John Taylor, branch manager of HomeStore Self Storage in Ipswich, after Ipswich Town’s 8-0 victory over Needham Market in the 2018-19 final at Portman Road. Suffolk County Cup Competitions Manager Adrian Moye is looking on.

HomeStore Self Storage Suffolk Women’s Cup First-Round Draw: Brantham Athletic v Beccles Town, Leiston St Margarets v Woodbridge Town,  Mildenhall Town v Stowupland Falcons, Ipswich Town v Kesgrave Kestrels, Brett Vale v AFC Kesgrave, Haverhill Rovers Community v AFC Sudbury, Needham Market v Chantry Grasshoppers, Needham Market Res v AFC Sudbury Res.

Byes: East Bergholt United, Haverhill Rovers, Bury Town, Henley Athletic, East Bergholt Utd Res, Halesworth Town, Bungay Town, Waveney.

Ties to be played on Sunday, September 20th, kick-offs 2.30pm.