FA Inter-League Cup

Manager excited ahead of cup tie

THE Macron Suffolk & Ipswich League play in the FA Inter League Cup on Saturday.

MACRON Suffolk & Ipswich League Representative side manager Iain Radnor is excited ahead of his side’s FA Inter League Cup first round tie.

The SIL face the ChromaSport Peterborough & District Football League in the competition at The Millfield, home of Hadleigh United FC, on Saturday, kick-off 3pm.

The competition, which is open to leagues at Step 7 of the National League System and other leagues as decided by The FA, has been running since 2003, with the final held once every two years.

Competition rules mean that players who have previously been under a written FA contract at a club are not eligible to play.

That means the likes of, for instance, Jon Ince, Mark Roper, Liam Jennings and James Blades at Radnor’s own club Cranes could not be considered.

Radnor said: “It is a shame they can’t play, but it is the same for everyone and it gives others the opportunity to represent the league in this competition.”

He has named a squad of 18, although two will not be involved on the day.

Radnor said: “We are confident with the squad we have got which has a lot of quality with seasoned and proven players.

“However, we could have done with more support from some clubs and management teams within our league.

“But now the game is almost here we are looking forward to it. We know nothing about them, but that makes it exciting. Sometimes you can know too much about the opposition and take into account how they will play, rather than putting your own stamp on the game.

“We wanted to play the fixture at Hadleigh when we knew the ground was available as it is a good pitch which will suit our players.”

SIL squad: Jack Foster (Cranes), Glyn Dixon (Claydon), Josh Dowsing (Claydon), Mark Van Oene (Cranes), Simon Crane (Claydon), Matt Oxborrow (Cranes), Nathan Woolard (Cranes), Byron Tejano (Henley Athletic), Liam Woodhouse (Claydon), Ben Prime (Cranes), Clark Bruce (Henley Athletic), Gavin Van Oene (Achilles), Teon Leggett (Cranes), Mo Fike (Cranes), Mark Storey (Henley Athletic), Jack Bolton (Old Newton Utd), Tye Webb (Bourne Vale Utd), Ashley Smith (Cranes).

Related News

View All