Groundsman of the Year winner 2018

Groundsmen judging panel ready to visit

SEVEN clubs will be vying for the title Suffolk FA Groundsman of the Year 2019.

SEVEN clubs will be vying for the title Suffolk FA Groundsman of the Year 2019 sponsored by Ransomes on Thursday.

The Judging Panel will visit each club to have entered this year’s competition, which is open to clubs at Step 7 and below in the county.

This year’s entrants are as follows: Bacton United 89, Beccles Town, Claydon, Coddenham Athletic, Leiston St Margarets, Old Newton United and Westerfield United.

This year’s Judging Panel will comprise of:

Jodie Allard – Suffolk FA Football Development Manager

Ben Connell – Ipswich Town FC Head Groundsman

Phil Jeggo – Regional Pitch Advisor East, The Institute of Groundsmen

Will Parker – Owner of Parkers Pitches

Rob Hayward – Export Sales Manager, Ransomes

Suffolk FA Marketing & Communications Officer Nick Garnham said: “This is the highest number of entries we have received in the six years I have been organising the competition, and it is encouraging to see three new entries – Coddenham Athletic, Leiston St Margarets and Westerfield United – taking part this year.

“We are looking forward to visiting the seven clubs on Thursday for what I am sure will be a closely-contested competition to see who is crowned this year’s winner.”

The winning club will receive £200 to be spent on groundscare equipment, with the runner-up receiving £100 and third-placed groundsman £50.

All three will be invited to attend the Suffolk FA Awards Ceremony to receive their prizes later this year.

Old Newton United’s Michael Brundish won last season’s competition.

Dave Shave, the club’s general manager, is pictured above receiving the award on his behalf from Ransomes Jacobsen’s International Sales Director Andre Andrade (left) and Suffolk FA Football Development Manager Jodie Allard (right) at last year’s Awards Ceremony.

Related News

View All