Bardwell Sports - Primary Cup 2021-22

Primary Cup

Proudly sponsored by McDonald's

Current Holders: Coddenham Athletic

The Suffolk Primary Cup is contested by adult Saturday Junior clubs who play at a lower level than those competing in the Junior Cup.

The Primary Cup began in the 1933-34 season, playing for six seasons before the outbreak of WW2. No team dominated during this time although both Newton Green and Eastern Counties III reached the final twice and won once. Notably the last winners before the war were Whitton United who have since won the Senior Cup and played in a Premier Cup Final.

It has been a cup where few clubs can claim to have dominated it. Only Bildeston Rangers have won the cup more than twice, having won it four times but still took 17 seasons to achieve this.

Two wins in a row is also rare. The current holders Bures United have achieved this beating AFC Yourshirts in both their finals. This is only the second  time this has happened, the previous occasion being when Lakenheath Reserves won the cup in both 1991-922 and 1992-93 seasons.

The biggest win is by 6-0 which has been achieved by both Priory Heath Youth Club and Kesgrave Bell.

The most goals, excluding penalty shoot-outs, is 10 which occurred in 2001 when Martlesham Athletic 98 beat Albion Mills 6-4.

The last final to go to extra time is also the most recent final to go to penalties. That was in 2014 when Adhara beat Witnesham Wasps 5-4 on penalties after a 4-4 extra time draw.

The coronavirus pandemic forced the 2019-20 final to be delayed until early the following season.

Round Dates

Round Date
1st Round to 05/11/22 Results
2nd Round 03/12/22 to 04/02/23 Results
3rd Round 04/02/23 to 11/02/23 Results
Quarter-Final 04/03/23 Results
Semi-Final 24/03/23 to 25/03/23 Results
Final 11/05/23 Result