Sunday Trophy winners 2019 Lavenham

Sunday Trophy

Current holders: Taverners

The Sunday Trophy is the youngest of the three open age male Sunday cup competitions. It was first played for in the 1988-89 season.

To date, no club has won the Sunday Trophy more than once. Falcons (from Felixstowe) can claim the best record in Trophy finals, having been losing finalists in 2012-13 and winners the following season, although Felsham and Gedding (later Felsham Six Bells) were losing finalists in the first three seasons.

The biggest final win is 6-0 which was achieved by the Lowestoft-based club Red Herring in 2008 and also Lavenham in 2019.

The most goals (excluding penalty shoot-outs) in the final is eight when Athletic Moreton Hall beat Old Newton Raiders 5-3 after extra time in 2007.

The most goals in a final including penalties is 19 in 2002 when Harrod UK (from Lowestoft) drew 2-2 with Maypole (from Ipswich) and 15 penalties were then scored before the Maypole goalkeeper failed to score with his penalty.

Hardy won the 2019-20 final, which was delayed until the start of the following season, after coming from 3-1 down to defeat Thrasher United 4-3.

Round Dates

Round Date
1st Round to 15/09/19 Results
2nd Round 13/10/19 Results
3rd Round 03/11/19 to 10/11/19 Results
Quarter-Final 01/03/20 to 15/03/20 Results
Semi-Final 13/09/20 Results
Final 27/09/20 Result