Sunday Shield winners 2019 Fusilier

Sunday Shield

Current Holders: Bacton United 89

Organised Sunday football in Suffolk appears to have started in 1962 with the formation of the Gippeswyke Sunday Amateur League followed by the Lowestoft Sunday League and the Sudbury & District Sunday League in 1964. The Bury & District Sunday League started in 1966.

Having Sunday football leagues throughout the county, Suffolk FA also launched the Sunday Shield on September 25th 1966.

The first final was played over two legs (the only time this happened) with AF Knights, a Debenham-based team, beating GPO Ipswich 5-2 on aggregate.

One of the original rules of the competition was that a collection was taken at each match, prior to the final, in order to cover match expenses.

The Sunday Shield continued as the only Suffolk FA competition for eight years when the Sunday Cup was introduced for teams with Senior players who were now banned from the Sunday Shield.

So far no club has won the Sunday Shield more than twice, although this has been achieved by Alderman Athletic, Barrow, Bungay Town, Dickerson, Duke of York, Exning United, Pakenham United, Priors United and Rickinghall Gunners.

Both wins by Barrow were against Stowmarket Athletic Reserves. As well as winning the Sunday Shield, Priors United were also losing finalists on four occasions, meaning they have taken part in a record six finals.

Both Alderman Athletic and Parkside have won both the Sunday Shield and Sunday Cup (twice). In Parkside's case they won the Sunday Cup before winning the Sunday Shield.

The 2019-20 final was played early the following season due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Round Dates

Round Date
1st Round to 15/09/19 Results
2nd Round 13/10/19 to 03/11/19 Results
3rd Round 10/11/19 Results
Quarter-Final 08/03/20 Results
Semi-Final 15/03/20 Results
Final 27/09/20 Result