Suffolk FA Annual General Meeting

THE Annual General Meeting of the Suffolk County Football Association took place on Thursday night with a higher than normal attendance.

In a relatively quiet meeting that lasted just over half an hour at the Association’s headquarters in Stowmarket, the most significant change unanimously approved was the proposal to remove the necessity to play extra time in all County Cup matches if the scores are equal at the end of full time. In these cases, matches will now go straight to penalty kicks.

Geraldine Day, Secretary of Holbrook Hornets Football Club, was elected as the new Area Representative for the Ipswich & District area, and will join the four other re-elected members - Adrian Moye (Mid Suffolk), David Porter (North Suffolk), Mike Powles (West Suffolk North) and Peter Betts (West Suffolk South) - as the only new member of the Suffolk FA Council. All five will serve for a period of four years. 

The meeting had been opened by Chairman Phil Lawler asking the members present to observe a short silence in memory of Dennis Meadows, President of The Lowestoft & District Referees’ Society, who had passed away on Saturday, July 8th.

The meeting closed with Bob Jenkerson thanking the Chairman, his Board of Directors and the staff for all their hard and excellent work over the past 12 months.

Next year’s AGM will be held on Thursday, July 12th 2018.

Woolly Pully 2017 300x290
Koolpak 2017 300x290 pxls
Suffolk FA Handbook Cover 2017-18
Tackling Discrimination

Facebook Stream Facebook

Find your team - your league, club and team details all at your fingertips.  Visit