Sunday Cup winners 2019 Gym United

Sunday Cup

Current Holders: Gym United

The Suffolk Sunday Cup commenced in 1972, six years after the Sunday Shield. It was introduced so clubs with players of Senior status had a separate competition to clubs with only players of Junior status, the latter continuing in the Sunday Shield.

The first winners of the Sunday Cup were Stowmarket Athletic, who beat Betakbake Anglia (of Ipswich) 2-1.

The most successful club have been Ipswich side Heathfield who have won the Sunday Cup six times and been losing finalists three times, all between 1983 and 1996.

The only other clubs to appear in more than three finals have been St Clements (one win, four defeats), John Player (two wins, two defeats) and Ipswich Thistle (one win, three defeats - previously called Silver Star Thistle and Premier Pool Thistle), all of whom are from Ipswich.

The biggest win in the final is 6-0 by Wortham Dolphin United in 2009 and the final with most goals (excluding a penalty shoot-out) is ten when Gym United beat Kitchener Taverners 6-4 in 2013.

The only time the final went to a replay was in 1999 when St Clements beat Mellis 1-0 after a 1-1 draw.

Round Dates

Round Date
1st Round to 16/09/18 Results
2nd Round 01/09/18 to 14/10/18 Results
Quarter-Final 03/02/19 to 17/02/19 Results
Semi-Final 03/03/19 Results
Final 28/04/19 Result