Community Awards

There are many people who make a real difference to grassroots football by giving their time to run the game.

Suffolk FA Community Awards

These awards, which awards are sponsored by The FA's community partner McDonald's, aim to recognise and reward the unsung heroes of grassroots football in communities across England.

Here are the categories for people to make their nominations:

  • Outstanding Contribution Award (voted for the public at national level)
  • The FA Charter Standard Community Award
  • The FA Charter Standard Development Award
  • The FA Charter Standard Club Award
  • The FA Charter Standard League Award
  • Volunteer of the Year Award
  • Young volunteer of the Year Award

The winners of the Suffolk FA Community Awards are then entered into an Eastern Region heat and the winners of these awards are then put forward for The FA's Community Awards.

Waveney FC were winners of the FA Community Club of the Year Award for 2015 and pictured above (left to right) are Mark Gamble, Paddy Woodham and David Beecher with Mark Richards of sponsors McDonald’s, who presented the certificate at the Awards Dinner held in the Sir Bobby Robson Suite at Portman Road

Suffolk FA Community Awards 2015 Winners

Outstanding Contribution to Community Football Award: Gavin Peters (Hadleigh United). Highly commended: Peter Cocker

The FA Charter Standard Community Club of the Year Award: Waveney Youth

The FA Charter Standard Development Club of the Year Award: Cornard Dynamos YFC 

The FA Charter Standard Club of the Year Award: Beccles Town Youth

The FA Charter Standard League Award: Norfolk & Suffolk Youth League 

Volunteer of the Year Award: Rod Cooper (Barsham FC).

Young Volunteer of the Year Award: Maria Palmer (Kirkley & Pakfield Ladies' FC)

Groundsman of the Year

This award honours the contribution made by groundsmen from clubs from across Suffolk at Step 7 level or below.

The winner, runner-up and third-placed clubs will receive vouchers to be spent at Mark Harrod Ltd, the Suffolk-based retailer of high-class sporting products which include goal posts, who currently sponsor the competition.

They will also be entered into The FA's national competition where the winners of each category will attend a 'winners day' at Wembley.

The prizes include:

  • A tour of Wembley
  • A pitch walk led by the ground staff
  • A Q&A session with the head groundsmen at Wembley and St George's Park, England's multi-million pound state-of-the-art training complex
  • A trophy presentation ceremony

Suffolk FA Groundsman of the Year 2015 winners

Darryle Flegg (Achilles FC)

Runner-up: Michael Brundish (Old Newton Utd FC)

Third place: Martin Stiff (Claydon FC)

Koolpak 2017 300x290 pxls
Lionesses at Colchester
Suffolk FA Handbook Cover 2017-18
Tackling Discrimination

Facebook Stream Facebook

Buy Now England vs Slovenia